Mission and Vision

CBNO’s vision is nothing less than seeing New Orleans returned to its rightful place among the great cities of the world.

As a diverse community organization, a catalyst and convener, we will realize that vision by working to bring all voices to the table to effect systemic changes that will build a better future for all New Orleanians.

We believe that systemic change is the most meaningful and enduring.  For example, substantive reform of our public education system will improve economic opportunity, reduce crime and positively impact the quality of life of everyone who lives, works and plays in New Orleans.  At the same time, it will reduce the need for direct educational services such as tutoring or after-school programs.

Change at this level impacts the greatest number of individuals and stakeholders, so a fundamental principle of all CBNO’s work is to engage the greatest possible number of people, organizations and decision-makers in the processes of designing and implementing systemic changes.  While we value all voices, extra effort is made to reach those individuals and communities that typically are least likely to be at the table and to be heard as the decisions are made.

There are many great places on our planet.  But none combine the culture, the history, the joie de vivre, the aromas and flavors, the music and food, the entrepreneurial spirit and welcoming attitude, the sheer humanity of the people, the way we do in New Orleans.  Our opportunity, our responsibility and our privilege is to do everything we can to polish this treasure up to its full measure of beauty.

2017 Board of Directors


Mr. Anthony Carter, Downtown Development District

Ms. Nicole Dillard, trepwise


  1. Dr. Naressa Cofield, Educator
  2. Mr. Barrett Cooper, ERG Enterprises
  3. Ms. Klassi Duncan, Urban League of Louisiana
  4. Mr. Carl Falstrom, Attorney, Treasurer
  5. Ms. Lucinda Flowers, Nonprofit consultant
  6. Ms. Ana Gershanik, Community Activist
  7. Ms. Ayushi Gupta, Ochsner Health System
  8. Mr. Tim Hemphill, New Orleans Business Alliance
  9. Mr. Joseph Hugg, Breazale Sachse & Wilson
  10. Ms. Annie Irvin, Beauregard Keyes Foundation
  11. Ms. Emily Leitzinger, Mid-City Neighborhood Organization
  12. Mr. Derrick Martin, Algiers Economic Development Foundation
  13. Mr. Shawn McKee, Peoples Health
  14. Ms. Rupa Mohan, The Sweat Social
  15. Ms. Sonya Moore, Eustis Insurance, Secretary
  16. Ms. Lindsey Navarro, LiftFund
  17. Dr. Justin Nystrom, Loyola University Center for the Study of New Orleans
  18. Ms. Victoria Adams Phipps, The Idea Village
  19. Ms. Janel Poche, Juarez & Associates
  20. Mr. Ernesto Posadas, Copa Airlines
  21. Mr. Cedric Scott, New Orleans Performing Arts Society
  22. Ms. Jennifer Terry, JOAB Professional Services
  23. Ms. Reaghan Wainwright, City of New Orleans
  24. Mr. Sean Wilson, International High School of New Orleans


Advisory Board:

  1. Ms. Florence Andre
  2. Fr. James Carter, Loyola University
  3. Mr. William Hines, JonesWalker
  4. Ms. Sharon Leader, SWL Inc.
  5. Dr. Susan Krantz, University of New Orleans (retired)
  6. Ms. Diana Lewis
  7. Ms. Yvonne Mitchell-Grubb, Algiers Economic Development Council
  8. Mr. Ashton J. Ryan, Jr., First NBC
  9. Mr. Mtumishi St.Julien, Finance Authority ofNew Orleans
  10. Dr. Vera Triplett, Algiers Charter School Association

 Board Emeritus

  1. Mr. Joseph C. Canizaro
  2. Dr. Norman C. Francis