2019 Board and Staff


Mr. Timothy Hemphill, LSU Health Foundation

Ms. Lindsey Navarro, El Centro


  1. Ms. Amritha Appaswami, Business Consultant, Secretary
  2. Mr. Warren Atkins, Delgado Community College
  3. Mr. Bradley Bain, TurboSquid
  4. Ms. Renee Bigelow, Marketing and Communications Consultant
  5. Mr. Scott Branta, The Domain Companies
  6. Mr. Anthony Carter, Downtown Development District, Treasurer
  7. Mr. Lukasz Chodyla, Peoples Health
  8. Ms. Jessica Dandridge, Patois Consulting
  9. Ms. Asali Ecclesiastes, New Orleans Business Alliance
  10. Ms. Emily Egan, The Idea Village
  11. Ms. Mamie Gasperecz, Gulf Coast Bank & Trust
  12. Ms. Kisha Laurent Gaudin, City of New Orleans
  13. Mr. Dana Henry, Urban League of Louisiana
  14. Ms. Annie Irvin, Beauregard Keyes Foundation
  15. Ms. Robin Jones, New Orleans City Planning Commission
  16. Mr. Leo Marsh
  17. Mr. John Suarez, Merrill Lynch
  18. Mr. Sean Wilson, International High School of New Orleans 

Advisory Board:

  1. Ms. Florence Andre
  2. Fr. James Carter, Loyola University
  3. Mr. William Hines, JonesWalker
  4. Ms. Sharon Leader, SWL Inc.
  5. Dr. Susan Krantz, University of New Orleans (retired)
  6. Ms. Diana Lewis
  7. Ms. Yvonne Mitchell-Grubb, Algiers Economic Development Council
  8. Mr. Ashton J. Ryan, Jr., First NBC
  9. Mr. Mtumishi St.Julien, Finance Authority ofNew Orleans
  10. Dr. Vera Triplett, Algiers Charter School Association

 Board Emeritus

  1. Mr. Joseph C. Canizaro
  2. Dr. Norman C. Francis

Key Staff

Keith Twitchell, President

Keith Twitchell served as a consultant for the Committee for a Better New Orleans beginning in July 2000 before accepting a full-time position in March 2002; he became president of the organization in June 2004.  He is responsible for project management, organizational leadership and fundraising/finances, and developed key CBNO programs such as the Community Participation Program and the Asset-Building-Based Employee Benefits Model.  He also played lead roles in establishing the Orleans Public Education Network and the Greater New Orleans Water Collaborative, and oversees the annual Bryan Bell Metropolitan Leadership Forum.  Mr. Twitchell is a former Captain of Krewe du Vieux, a state-ranked tennis player and an award-winning writer, and has served on a variety of organization boards.  He received a YLC Role Model award in 2014 and the Urban Conservancy’s Urban Hero award in 2016.  He earned his B.A. from Washington College and his M.A. from Bowling Green State University, and is a member of the ODK National Leadership Honor Society.  Contact him at info@cbno.org or (504) 267-4666.

Kelsey Foster, Budget Campaign Manager

Kelsey Foster has worked with the Committee for a Better New Orleans since 2013 and previously worked as the communications coordinator for the New Orleans Coalition on Open Governance, of which CBNO was a founding member.  She holds a bachelor’s degree in print and multimedia journalism from Emerson College in Boston, where she also completed a minor in history.  As People’s Budget Campaign Coordinator, she has consulted with colleagues working on similar budgeting campaigns in cities as varied as Boston, Chicago and Vallejo, California.  Kelsey coordinates the New Orleans Campaign with the help of a community council of volunteers, residents and nonprofit leaders from around the city who help inform the decision-making and direction of the Campaign.  She has led the development of key Campaign projects such as the Big Easy Budget Breakdown (a website that provides annual budget to actual information for New Orleans city government going back to 2008) and the Big Easy Budget Game (an interactive website that enables any New Orleans resident to create his/her own version of the New Orleans City Budget).  Contact her at kelsfoster@gmail.com or (504) 267-4696.